年报

Annual Report
2016 - 2017

introdution

About the Founder
Mr. Robert Yet-Sen Chen (1929 -2003)

Mr. Robert Yet-Sen Chen was born at the beginning of China's new Republic, survived the civil wars and the Sino-Japanese War, lived on four continents, and established a thriving international business enterprise. Through it all he never forgot his roots, his boyhood years in rural China. He dedicated much time, energy and financial contributions in the later part of his life to helping the less fortunate in his home village in Qidong, Jiangsu Province, China.

Mr. Chen was born in 1929. At the age of 14, he left his hometown to study in Shanghai. In 1948, he left China for Hong Kong and eventually went on to attend university in England. In 1957, Mr. Chen returned to work in the family business in Hong Kong. He established the company's presence in West Africa by setting up factories in Nigeria, Ghana and the Ivory Coast. Like many of his generation, Mr. Chen experienced personal loss, war and hunger in his youth which was to prepare him for the rigors and challenges of doing business in uncharted territories. His positive outlook on life and his uncanny ability to see to the core of issues, coupled with his unfailing diligence, contributed to the ultimate success of his personal and professional endeavors. His diligence and sound financial investment strategies paid dividends for the family business.

The elder, Mr. Chen Zao Men, taught his son about the importance of philanthropy - of giving - from an early age. The Chen Zao Men College in Hong Kong was the first charitable project supported by the Chen Family in 1972, and the genesis of a tradition of community service. Mr. Robert Chen built on this legacy of good works by building and supporting six schools, a community hospital, and undertaking much-needed public works in the family's hometown of Qidong. His lifetime of philanthropic work culminated with the creation of the Chen Yet-Sen Family Foundation in October 2003, prior to his unexpected and premature passing on November 29, 2003.

Mr. Robert Chen was a successful businessman, a caring family man, a generous benefactor and a respected citizen. Compassionate and generous, he cared deeply about educating the younger generations in whom he saw unfulfilled potential to excel. His spirit lives on in the Foundation that bears his name.

ABOUT US

About us

Established in 2003, The Chen Yet-Sen Family Foundation is a hybrid charitable institution with a strategic focus on improving early childhood literacy, through the development of libraries and reading programs. The Foundation also supports experiential out-of-classroom programs which aim to improve personal development of children.

Geographical Interest

Geographical Interest

The Foundation is a grant-making institution that supports organizations for innovative, cost effective and high impact programs in Mainland China and Hong Kong.

Mission Statement

Mission Statement

To nurture the potential of the next generation by building, supporting & sustaining innovative approaches that enhance learning & personal development.

  • Supporting relevant local organizations and people to achieve capacity building

  • Introducing best practices or new ideas

  • Scaling up successful projects

  • Encouraging the dissemination of innovative ideas

  • Assisting with people resources in libraries

  • Promoting quality literature

  • Supporting life skills training

Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee
  • Co-Chairman
    Mr. James Chen
  • Co-Chairman
    Mrs. D’ANJOU-BROWN Cynthia Louise
    (Up to January 2017)
Treasurer
Mrs. Daisy Chen
Member
Mrs. Su Chen
(From April 2016)
Member
Mr. Guangshen Gao
Member
Mrs. Justina Leung
Member
Mr. Alan Wang
Chief Executive
Ms. Jennifer Ho
(Up to December 2017)
China Special Program Manager
Ms. Cindy Qin
China Grants Manager
Ms. Shelly Lu
Hefei Program Assistant
Mr. Charlie Xue
Administrative Secretary
Mrs. Elaine Chin
(Up to November 2017)
Administrative Secretary (Part Time)
Mrs. Blesila Tse
  • Co-Chairman
  • Treasurer and Member
  • Ex-officio Members
    • Co-Chairman
      Mr. James Chen
    • Co-Chairman
      Mrs. D’ANJOU-BROWN Cynthia Louise
      (Up to January 2017)
    • Treasurer
      Mrs. Daisy Chen
    • Member
      Mrs. Su Chen
      (From April 2016)
    • Member
      Mr. Guangshen Gao
    • Member
      Mrs. Justina Leung
    • Member
      Mr. Alan Wang
    • Chief Executive
      Ms. Jennifer Ho
      (Up to December 2017)
    • China Special Program Manager
      Ms. Cindy Qin
    • China Grants Manager
      Ms. Shelly Lu
    • Hefei Program Assistant
      Mr. Charlie Xue
    • Administrative Secretary
      Mrs. Elaine Chin
      (Up to November 2017)
    • Administrative Secretary (Part Time)
      Mrs. Blesila Tse

message

Message from the Chairman

Welcome to the Chen Yet-Sen Family Foundation’s 14th annual report

2017 has been both a challenging and exploratory year for the Foundation.

Our challenges relate to the uncertainty with China’s recently overhauled foreign NGO law. To be prudent, we did not invite any new grants from China-based NGOs until the operating environment became clearer. This however gave us the opportunity to re-allocate our resources to review the impact of selected grantee programs that we have supported. We believe this is crucial -- not only to steer our future grant-making direction but to also enable the Foundation to become an exemplar in an era where there is a rising demand for charitable organizations to evidence their social impact.

We engaged an independent consultant to conduct a grant program review in 2016 and the findings were encouraging. The results show the Foundation’s role as an ‘engaged’ grant-maker has been instrumental in helping both start-up and grassroots NGOs to pave ways for future sustainability. Secondly, the Foundation’s unique approach of ‘rigorous first and flexible later’ has enabled us to create a network of like-minded partners to implement projects that resonate our core value of reading for pleasure. The Foundation is confident that with these promising findings, together with our deep relationships with peers and stakeholders our investments have borne fruit. We hope to resume our China-based grant programs in the near future to support highly impactful projects that promote play and early childhood literacy.

Our Stone Soup Happy Reading Alliance (SSHRA) 26 partner schools are anticipating an exciting year ahead. As a follow up from the grant program review, we are planning to do a similar review for SSHRA – which falls under the Foundation’s Special Programs. Our Board has mandated that the results from this review will be instrumental in shaping our strategic plan in replicating SSHRA in other parts of China. We strongly believe that after 10+ years of experience in growing SSHRA in Hefei, we are now poised to scale up this unique model so that more children, parents and schools can benefit from our mission to bring reading for pleasure to all.

Our work with Collective Impact Hong Kong has progressed well. The Foundation’s support of this collaborative and innovative approach to bringing early childhood educare to Hong Kong low income families is now in its second year. I am proud to say that its efforts have been steadily moving forward. Further detail is presented in later sections of this report.

In line with our advocacy work, we are pleased to announce that the Foundation commissioned book titled ‘Comprehensive and Compelling: The Causes and Effects of Free Voluntary Reading’, co-authored by Dr. Stephen Krashen, Dr. Sy ying Lee and Dr. Christy Lao, was published in the US and Taiwan. The findings demonstrate the importance of inspiring a love of reading through the self-selection of books – simple, but powerful. We highly recommend all parents and educators to read this as it serves as a blueprint for the success of future generations.

Last but not least, on behalf of the staff, the Board and my family, I would like to give my heartfelt thanks and gratitude to Cynthia D’Anjou Brown, my Co-chair for the past nine years. In fact, she has served as a Consultant and Director of the Foundation since the very beginning and was instrumental in shaping, guiding and steering the Foundation – much of our success can be attributed to Cynthia. Her insights and network have been invaluable. Our strong governance and discipline to attaining domain expertise is attributed to her. Cynthia had already extended her retirement from the Board – at our insistence – now it is time to farewell this truly respected leader and a dear friend.

Cynthia – it has indeed been a great pleasure and my personal honour to work with you. Thank you from the CYSFF family – we miss you.

2018 looms large and will bring many new horizons to the Foundation. I look forward to reporting new achievements and successes as we seek to engage; continuing to build our domain expertise and collaborating with those who can further the cause.

James Chen

Chairman, The Chen Yet-Sen Family Foundation

MEMORIAL ESSAY

In Memoriam Professor James Henri,a non-Chinese devoted to education in China

The Foundation lost a good old friend on 4 March 2018. Professor James Henri, our Reading Projects Consultant, succumbed to illness at the age of 65. The sad news struck so suddenly that we at the Foundation are still unable to get over it.

Professor James had been Reading Projects Consultant of the Foundation since 2007. Back in 2004, the Foundation decided to focus on subsidizing and assisting in reading for kids and library development. To enhance the Foundation’s understanding of these areas, expert support was required. At that time, Professor James, who was teaching at the Faculty of Education of The University of Hong Kong, was highly respected in the area of Hong Kong school library administration, having assisted the Education Bureau in setting up a training system for teacher-librarians and trained up the first batch of full-time school library administrators. The discussion process leading to the appointment of Professor James as a Consultant of the Foundation was remarkably smooth, not only because both parties shared the same views on education and reading for kids, but also because we were deeply impressed by Professor James’s easygoing personality and great sense of humour.

With his support, the Foundation started to robustly promote reading and library development in Mainland China. In 2007, he and other consultant researchers jointly submitted the Report on the demonstration project for the development of reading habit among children through libraries in farming villages in China to the Foundation. It confirmed for the first time the Foundation’s mission in respect of reading projects, and the newly constructed project model laid a solid foundation for the implementation of the project. Guided by the said Report, the Foundation has never ceased looking for partnering institutions which share a similar vision, and over the years the Foundation has supported more than 80 reading and library projects. In most of these projects, Professor James made the point of visiting the subject local schools in person, providing them with professional suggestions for improvement and showering them with words of encouragement.

Hefei, China is the city to which Professor James paid the most visits. He witnessed the establishment of the Stone Soup Happy Reading Alliance and its growth from 6 to 7 member schools at the beginning to 26 member schools nowadays. In Hefei, he organized and led a training course for teacher-librarians, being the first systematic and advanced training course ever conducted for school library administrators in China. The teachers who completed the training course have now developed into major driving forces behind the Alliance’s work in promoting school library development. Looking back, whenever Professor James put forward a new idea or proposal, some would dismiss it as absurd or wishful thinking, while others might doubt whether they would be competent enough for the proposed task. But it was precisely these bold, innovative ideas that kept educators in Hefei clear and confident about what was good education, always placing the kids’ needs at the very centre of educational attention. Nor, for that matter, had the principals’ impression of Professor James changed much over the past decade. “His appearance hasn’t changed much; more importantly, his childlike innocence has never changed a bit.” “The things he most enjoys doing at school are watching the kids in class, chatting with them, and taking photos with them as mementos.” Indeed, the photos he took with kids can be seen on the culture walls of almost all of the Alliance schools.

At every lecture he delivered, he aimed to stimulate everyone to think and re-think: what is school education about? What role can the school library play? What are the old-fashioned rules and systems that need to be removed or revamped? The concept which we all remember most deeply is the need, as Professor James repeatedly emphasized, to build “a school within a library” rather than “a library within a school”. “Reading is not just an activity to be carried out at school on a Wednesday afternoon. It should be embedded in the school’s cultural environment.” This is the educational objective that Professor James had tirelessly promoted over the years, and is also a change that he hoped would occur in the education system of China.

Professor James’s departure is a tremendous loss not only to the Foundation but also to school education in general. All of us at the Foundation would like to take this opportunity to pay our heartfelt tribute to him, a close friend and partner of the Foundation. Guided by his ideals in education, the Foundation will continue to put in its greatest effort to promote reading at school and school library development, in the hope of witnessing more changes in education throughout China.

年报

Annual Report
2016 - 2017

introdution

创办人简介
陈一心先生(1929-2003)

陈一心先生于民国初年出生,历经内战及中日战争的磨难,曾旅居四大洲,创立了兴盛的国际性企业。他从未遗忘自己的根以及自己在家乡度过的童年岁月,并于后半生致力帮助不幸的人,对家乡江苏省启东市的公共建设投入大量精力和财力。

陈先生出生于1929年,14岁时离开家乡前往上海求学。 1948年,他来到香港,后来远赴英伦留学。 1957年,陈先生返回香港,加入家族企业工作。他成功地在西非国家—尼日利亚、加纳和科特迪瓦开设工厂。正如许多同辈一样,陈先生年轻时经历了挫败、战乱和饥荒等磨练,使他在荒芜的地区开拓业务时,能够应付种种严峻的考验和挑战。他为人积极向上,对事物具有非凡的洞察力,而且努力不懈,因此在个人及事业上都获得杰出成就。陈先生的勤奋,加上稳健的投资策略,为家族事业带来丰厚的回报。

父亲陈兆民先生,从小开始,就教导儿子慈善事业——回馈的重要性。 1972年在香港支持的陈兆民中学是陈氏家族第一个慈善项目。陈一心先生在启东修建了六所学校、一个社区医院及家乡所需的大量公共建设。 2003年11月29日陈一心先生溘然而逝,但他一生的慈善工作催化了2003年10月创建的陈一心家族基金会(现“陈一心家族慈善基金”)。

陈一心先生驰骋商界,关爱家庭,慷慨捐输,一生备受尊崇。这位热诚慷慨的慈善家生前非常关注年轻一代的教育,希望他们的潜质得以发挥。以他命名的陈一心家族基金会将延续这种精神,服务社群。

ABOUT US

关于我们

成立于2003年,陈一心家族慈善基金是一家拨款和运作混合型基金会,策略重点是借着发展图书馆及推广阅读计划帮助改善幼儿阅读素养和读写能力。对于能提高教育成效和促进儿童个人成长发展的课外体验式学习项目,基金会亦十分支持。

Geographical Interest

资助项目区域

本基金会乃拨款机构,资助在中国内地 (主要分布于北京、上海、安徽、江苏及云南) 及香港的创新、高效能和具影响力的项目。

Mission Statement

使命宣言

建立、支援及延续各种提升学习能力和个人发展的创新方法,以培育下一代的潜能。

  • 资助本地有关团体及人士提升能力

  • 介绍最佳方法或崭新意念

  • 扩展成功项目

  • 鼓励推广创新意念

  • 协助培训图书馆人力资源

  • 推广优质文学

  • 支持生活技能训练

Advisory Committee

咨询委员会
  • 联合主席
    陈禹嘉先生
  • 联合主席
    白懿馨女士
    (至2017年1月)
司库
陈范俪瀞女士
成员
陈李淑慧女士
(从2016年4月)
成员
高广深先生
成员
梁魏懋贤女士
成员
王胜先生
执行总监
何嘉仪小姐
(至2017年12月)
中国特别项目经理
覃小燕小姐
中国资助项目经理
陆玲小姐
合肥项目经理
薛登先生
行政秘书
钱绮玲女士
(至2017年11月)
行政秘书 (兼职)
谢蔡淑芬女士
  • 联合主席
  • 司库和成员
  • 当然委员
    • 联合主席
      陈禹嘉先生
    • 联合主席
      白懿馨女士
      (至2017年1月)
    • 司库
      陈范俪瀞女士
    • 成员
      陈李淑慧女士
      (从2016年4月)
    • 成员
      高广深先生
    • 成员
      梁魏懋贤女士
    • 成员
      王胜先生
    • 执行总监
      何嘉仪小姐
      (至2017年12月)
    • 中国特别项目经理
      覃小燕小姐
    • 中国资助项目经理
      陆玲小姐
    • 合肥项目经理
      薛登先生
    • 行政秘书
      钱绮玲女士
      (至2017年11月)
    • 行政秘书 (兼职)
      谢蔡淑芬女士

message

主席寄语

我很高兴呈上基金会第十四份年报。

2017年,基金会面对重重挑战之余,也探索许多新机遇,度过了既充实且难忘的一年。

我们面对的挑战之一,在于中国近年实施的《境外非政府组织境内活动管理法》所产生的不确定因素。为更好的准备以后工作,在操作环境尚未明朗之前,我们没有邀请国内公益机构开展任何新资助项目。然而,我们也借此机会重新分配资源,审视过去基金会支持的资助项目经验。我们相信这次回顾工作至关重要,这不但有助于为我们未来资助的方向提供指引,也可呼吁更多的资助型基金会开展类似回顾,不断反思经验,做出改进。

我们于2016年聘请独立顾问对基金会的资助项目进行回顾,研究发现令人鼓舞。结果显示,作为“全情投入”的资助者,基金会在支持新成立的公益机构规划未来的可持续发展上,发挥了积极和重要的作用。此外,基金会在提供资助方面所采取的“先严后宽”独特做法,让我们可以构建一个由志趣相投的合作伙伴组成的网络,以便推行更多项目,体现我们一贯坚守的核心价值 —— 享受阅读乐趣。凭借这些令人振奋的结果,以及我们与同行和利益相关方的深厚关系,基金会欣喜看到资助所带来的影响。我们期盼在不久的将来恢复国内资助项目,让我们继续支持各个甚具影响力的项目,推广游戏和儿童阅读。

我们的合肥阅读旗舰(石头汤悦读校园联盟)项目下的26所伙伴学校,现正殷切期待令人兴奋的一年来临。继回顾资助项目后,我们也正在打算对合肥阅读旗舰项目展开类似的项目回顾。理事会期盼此次项目回顾的结果将大大有助我们思考在国内其他地区如何设立同类联盟的策略。经过过去十年在发展联盟而积累的宝贵经验,我们已准备好推广此项目模式。让人人悦读的理念,使更多儿童、家长和学校受益。

我们与香港协同创效计划的合作进展顺利。在该计划下,基金会以协作和创新的方式支持香港低收入家庭的幼儿教育。我们参与该计划已进入第二年,而目睹该计划稳步推展、受惠人数与日俱增,我们也倍感欣喜。本年报也会更详细地陈述我们在该计划下的工作。

为配合我们弘扬阅读乐趣的宗旨,基金会委托Stephen Krashen博士、李思颖博士及刘英博士合著《自主阅读 — 让孩子自选与自读,培养读写能力》一书。我们欣然宣布这本著作已经在美国和台湾出版。书中引述相关研究结果,显示让孩子自选读物可大大激发阅读兴趣,一种简单但有效的促进阅读方式。我们诚意鼓励每一位家长和教育工作者阅读此书,当中的研究结果能激发我们思考如何培育出类拔萃的下一代。

最后,我谨代表本基金全体员工、理事会和我的家人,向离开基金会的Cynthia D’Anjou Brown女士致以由衷感谢和敬意。她在基金会担任九年的联席主席一职。实际上,她一开始作为基金会的顾问,指导基金会的建立。我们得以达致今天的成就,Cynthia的贡献功不可没。多年来,她运用敏锐的洞察力和广阔的人际网络,积极推动基金会发展,更为我们建立了优良的治理和纪律架构,带领我们在成为公益慈善界引领者的大道上迈进。事实上,Cynthia早前已曾表示有意退休,但经我们极力游说后,她愿意留任理事会。直至现在,我们确要尊重她的意愿,怀着依依不舍的心情向我们这位好领袖兼好朋友说声再见。

Cynthia,这些年来能够与你携手合作,是我个人的莫大光荣。我谨代表陈一心家族衷心感谢你,并祝你今后生活愉快。

展望将来,2018年定将为基金会带来更多挑战和机遇。我期待向各位汇报我们的新项目和新成就、与更多志同道合的机构合作,继续深化和发挥基金会的专长。

陈禹嘉

陈一心家族慈善基金主席

MEMORIAL ESSAY

对James Henri教授的悼文

缅怀James Henri 教授,一位不遗余力推动中国教育的外国人

基金会多年的好朋友,阅读项目顾问James Henri教授因病于2018年3月4日逝世,享年65岁。这个沉重的消息来得如此突然,直至今日,大家都还无法释怀。

自2007年起,James教授一直担任基金会项目顾问一职。2004年,基金会确定资助重点在儿童阅读及图书馆发展领域,需要专家支持,扩展基金会对此领域的认识及理解。 当时,James教授正于香港大学教育学院执教,在香港学校图书馆领域已颇有名望,帮助香港教育局建立学校图书馆主任培训体系,培养了第一批专职的学校图书馆管理人才。 在邀请他担任顾问的整个沟通过程特别顺利,这不仅基于双方所持的共同教育理念及儿童阅读观,也因为James教授随和且幽默的性格。

在他的支持下,基金会大刀阔斧的开始在内地推动阅读及图书馆领域的工作。2007年,他同其他顾问研究员向基金会递交了《在中国农村通过图书馆来培养孩子们阅读习惯的示范项目报告》。第一次明确了基金会的阅读项目使命,创建的项目模型也为项目开展奠定了坚实的基础。在这份报告的指导下,基金会不断寻找理念相似的合作机构,多年来,一共支持了80多个阅读及图书馆项目。而大多数项目,James教授都有亲自走访。每次走访,他带给当地学校的是专业的改进意见以及满满的鼓励。

他到访最多次的城市就是中国合肥。从六七所学校到现今联盟的26所学校,他看着石头汤联盟的发展及壮大。在合肥,他组织和领导了图书馆老师培训,这也是对中国内地学校的图书馆管理人员开展的第一次系统且先进的培训课程。 如今,毕业的老师已发展为联盟及学校图书馆推动的骨干力量。回忆每次他提出新的方案和计划时,有人会说异想天开,有人也质疑自己的能力是否可胜任,但正因为他这些大胆创新的想法,才不断滋生了合肥教育者对什么是好的教育的自信,永远把孩子的需求放在教育关注的中心。正如十年来,校长对他的印象似乎一直没怎么变。“除了外貌没什么变化之外,更重的是他的那颗童心,始终没有变”。 “在学校,他最喜欢看孩子上课,跟孩子们聊天,找孩子们合影留念”。 在学校文化墙上,几乎在每所学校都可看到他跟孩子们的温馨留影。

每次演讲,他的目标是激发大家去重新思考学校的教育是什么? 学校图书馆可以发挥什么作用?哪些默守陈规的制度需要打破? 大家印象最深刻的一个理念是他反复强调的要建立“图书馆中的学校”,而非“学校中的图书馆”。“阅读不是学校某个星期三下午的一个活动,它应该嵌入至学校的文化理念中”。 这是他多年来一直不遗余力推动的教育目标,也是他期望中国教育可做出的改变。

他的离开对于学校教育、对于基金会都是巨大的损失。James教授是基金会亲密的伙伴,谨以此文,基金会全体人员向James教授的逝世表示深切的悼念!携同着他的教育理想,基金会将继续前行,不遗余力的推动学校阅读及图书馆发展,看到更多的地区实现教育的改变!